Related Information for Souther Hillman Furay Band
The Souther-Hillman-Furay Band was a country rock supergroup led by singer-songwriters Richie Furay (Buffalo Springfield, Poco), Chris Hillman (The Byrds, The Flying Burrito Brothers, Manassas), and J.D. Souther (Longbranch Pennywhistle). The band was formed in 1973 upon the request of David Geffen, then head of Asylum Records. Hillman brought three other ex-members of Manassas to the group: pianist Paul Harris, percussionist Joe Lala (both of who had also worked with Barnstorm) and pedal steel guitarist Al Perkins (who had also played with the Flying Burrito Brothers). The septet was rounded out by superstar drummer Jim Gordon. They released two albums and had a substantial hit with the 1974 self-titled first album and the single "Fal... read more